Quoting Texans

LoneStar-2Go to Stephan Pyles’ restaurant Stampede 66 in Dallas and you’ll become acquainted with the words of these Lone Star characters:

WILLIAM BLAKLEY

  • Texas is neither southern nor western. Texas is Texas.

PHILIP SHERIDAN

  • If I owned Texas and Hell, I would rent Texas and live in Hell.

MERIAM A. FERGUSON

  • If English was good enough for Jesus Christ, it ought to be good enough for the children of Texas.

KINKY FRIEDMAN

  • I support gay marriage. I believe they have a right to be as miserable as the rest of us.
  • Happiness is a moving target.
  • Beauty is in the eye of the beer holder.
  • If you don’t love Jesus, go to hell!
  • If you have the choice between humble and cocky, go with cocky. There’s always time to be humble later, once you’ve been proven horrendously, irrevocably wrong.
  • I am not anti-death penalty, but I’m damn sure anti-the-wrong-guy-getting-executed.
  • Well, I hate to be the one to take the flyswatter to Tinker Bell, but . . .
  • There’s a fine line between fiction and non-fiction and I think I snorted it somewhere in 1979.
  • The Democrats and Republicans are the same guy admiring themself in the mirror.

 

Leave a Reply

