Thank God for Nicholas Ferrar’s decision

In Seeing Beauty and Saying Beautifully: The Power of Poetic Effort in the Work of George Herbert, George Whitefield, and C. S. Lewis, John Piper writes:

George Herbert was a country pastor whose unpublished poems he offered on his deathbed to his trusted friend Nicholas Ferrar with these words to the courier:

Sir, I pray deliver this little book to my dear brother Ferrar, and tell him he shall find in it a picture of the many spiritual conflicts that have passed betwixt God and my soul, before I could subject mine to the will of Jesus my Master, in whose service I have now found perfect freedom; desire him to read it: and then, if he can think it may turn to the advantage of any dejected poor soul, let it be made public; if not, let him burn it; for I and it are less than the least of God’s mercies.

One thought on “Thank God for Nicholas Ferrar’s decision

  1. I’m in the midst of reading Piper’s book, and was so happy to see your quote, AND to recognize the name of the poet! We are so weak in our awareness of the richness in Herbert’s writings.

Leave a Reply

