Besides the Bible, choose one great theologian to master

Baptist minister John Piper: 

When I was in seminary, a wise professor told me that besides the Bible I ought to choose one great theologian and apply myself throughout life to understanding and mastering his thought, to sink at least one shaft deep into reality rather than always dabbling on the surface of things. I might in time become this man’s peer and know at least one system with which to bring other ideas into fruitful dialogue. It was good advice. The theologian to whom I have devoted myself more than any other is Jonathan Edwards.

A Mind in Love with God: The Private Life of a Modern Evangelical

Related

4 thoughts on “Besides the Bible, choose one great theologian to master

    • Hey Sam. Long time no talk. It’s nice to hear from you again. If we follow John Piper’s challenge, we only get to choose one theologian to master. My top five choices would be St. Augustine, Soren Kierkegaard (who is more of a philosopher), Karl Barth, Dietrich Bonhoeffer, and C. S. Lewis (who is more of a lay theologian). If I was forced to choose, I would definitely go for Soren Kierkegaard. How about you?

Leave a Reply

