To whom I can receive but to whom I may not give

Here is one of my all-time favorite prayers from Martin Luther (1483-1546):

"Martin Luther" by Lucas Cranach the Elder (1526)

Behold, Lord,
an empty vessel that needs to be filled.
My Lord, fill it.

I am weak in the faith;
strengthen thou me.

I am cold in love;
warm me and make me fervent
that my love may go out to my neighbour.

I do not have a strong and firm faith;
at times I doubt and am unable to trust thee altogether.

O Lord, help me.
Strengthen my faith and trust in thee.

In thee I have sealed the treasures of all I have.

I am poor;
thou art rich and didst come to be merciful to the poor.

I am a sinner;
thou art upright.

With me there is an abundance of sin;
in thee is the fulness of righteousness.

Therefore, I will remain with thee of whom I can receive
but to whom I may not give.

Amen.

2 thoughts on “To whom I can receive but to whom I may not give

Leave a Reply

